Senate Committee Assignments Announced

Earlier this afternoon a press release from the office of Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg made it’s rounds in the Capitol announcing the full proposed lineups for policy committees.  The assignments are expected to be confirmed by the Senate Rules Committee Tuesday, and then members will hit the road running with the first Senate Committee meeting Wednesday morning.

Our personal favorite is the Senate Labor and Industrial Relations Committee, slated to be chaired by the infamous “vacant” Senator.  The assignments, are posted in full as follows:

Agriculture: Cannella (Chair), Rubio (Vice Chair), Berryhill, Evans, La Malfa, Vargas, Wolk.

Appropriations: Kehoe (Chair), Walters (Vice Chair), Alquist, de Leon, Emmerson, Pavley, Price Jr., Steinberg, Wyland.

Banking & Financial Institutions: Vargas (Chair), Blakeslee (Vice Chair), Evans, Kehoe, Liu, Padilla, Walters.

Budget & Fiscal Review: Leno (Chair), Huff (Vice Chair), Alquist, Anderson, DeSaulnier, Emmerson, Evans, Fuller, Hancock, La Malfa, Liu, Lowenthal, Rubio, Simitian, Wolk, Wright.

Budget Subcommittee #1 – Education: Liu (Chair), Huff, Wright.

Budget Subcommittee #2 – Resources, Environmental Protection Energy, & Transportation: Simitian (Chair), Fuller, Lowenthal.

Budget Subcommittee #3 – Health & Human Services: DeSaulnier (Chair), Alquist, Emmerson.

Budget Subcommittee #4 – State Administration, General Government & the Judiciary: Rubio (Chair), Evans, La Malfa.

Budget Subcommittee #5 – Corrections and Public Safety: Hancock (Chair), Anderson, Wolk.

Business, Professions and Economic Development: Price Jr. (Chair), Emmerson (Vice Chair), Corbett, Correa, Hernandez, Negrete McLeod, Vargas, Walters, Wyland.

Education: Lowenthal (Chair), Huff (Vice Chair), Alquist, Blakeslee, Emmerson, Hancock, Liu, Price Jr., Simitian, Vargas, vacancy.

Elections & Constitutional Amendments: Correa (Chair), La Malfa (Vice Chair), de Leon, Gaines, Wolk.

Energy, Utilities and Communications: Padilla (Chair), Fuller (Vice Chair), Berryhill, Corbett, de Leon, DeSaulnier, Pavley, Rubio, Simitian, Strickland, Wright.

Environmental Quality: Simitian (Chair), Strickland (Vice Chair), Blakeslee, Hancock, Kehoe, Lowenthal, Pavley.

Governance & Finance: Wolk (Chair), Huff (Vice Chair), DeSaulnier, Fuller, Hancock, Hernandez, La Malfa, Leno, Liu.

Governmental Organization: Wright (Chair), Anderson (Vice Chair), Berryhill, Calderon, Cannella, Corbett, de Leon, Evans, Hernandez, Padilla, Strickland, Wyland, Yee.

Health: Hernandez (Chair), Strickland (Vice Chair), Alquist, Anderson, Blakeslee, de Leon, DeSaulnier, Rubio, Wolk.

Human Services: Liu (Chair), Emmerson (Vice Chair), Berryhill, Hancock, Strickland, Wright, Yee.

Insurance: Calderon (Chair), Gaines (Vice Chair), Anderson, Corbett, Correa, Lowenthal, Price Jr., Wyland.

Judiciary: Evans (Chair), Harman (Vice Chair), Blakeslee, Corbett, Leno

Labor & Industrial Relations: vacant (Chair), Corbett (Vice Chair), Dutton, Leno, Padilla, Wyland, Yee.

Legislative Ethics: Walters (Chair), Lowenthal (Vice Chair), Negrete McLeod

Natural Resources and Water: Pavley (Chair), La Malfa (Vice Chair), Cannella, Evans, Fuller, Kehoe, Padilla, Simitian, Wolk.

Public Employment and Retirement: Negrete McLeod (Chair), Walters (Vice Chair), Gaines, Padilla, Vargas.

Public Safety: Hancock (Chair), Anderson (Vice Chair), Calderon, Harman, Liu, Price Jr., Steinberg.

Rules: Steinberg (Chair), Harman (Vice Chair), Alquist, de Leon, Fuller.

Transportation and Housing: DeSaulnier (Chair), Gaines (Vice Chair), Harman, Huff, Kehoe, Lowenthal, Pavley, Rubio, Simitian.

Veterans Affairs: Correa (Chair), Cannella (Vice Chair), Berryhill, Calderon, La Malfa, Negrete McLeod, Rubio.


Joint Committee on Arts: Price Jr. (Chair), Calderon, Cannella, Emmerson, Kehoe, Liu.

Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture: Evans, Kehoe, La Malfa, Lowenthal.

Joint Committee on Legislative Audit: Alquist, Anderson, de Leon, Dutton, La Malfa, Rubio, Wolk.

Joint Committee on Rules: Alquist, Cannella, Corbett, de Leon, Dutton, Emmerson, Fuller, Harman, Huff, Kehoe, Leno, Steinberg, Vargas, Wright.

Joint Legislative Budget: DeSaulnier, Emmerson, Huff, Kehoe, Leno, Padilla, Walters, Wolk.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s